Posted by: liliansloan | May 5, 2010

5th May 2010

Well what a day we had on Monday.  Bank Holiday…….disaster.

The men finally came to start our mono blocking and within an hour they had burst the gas pipe.  Not their fault apparently as the vertical pipe had only been about 2 inches from the surface and was unmarked.  Anyway that got sorted by several gas engineers.

After getting back to work they cut an electricity wire.  Fortunately this wasn’t a main and was quickly repaired.   No more disasters for them and it is looking good. They will probably be finished by tomorrow.

In the afternoon I went to visit a friend.  She had a small cat who had recently had 5 kittens.  Four of the five had been taken away and she was now defending the little grey bundle she had left.   Stupidly, because I love cats and have never upset them, I went to stroke her and she went for me.  Ten punctures and 2 slashes later and dripping blood, I was just glad she hadn’t gone for my face.   She was only defending her kitten and probably thought that, as a stranger I was going to take her too.

I went home and hubby and I decided to go out for tea.  I ordered some comfort food – scampi and chips……….guess what scampi was off the menu.  I reordered haggis neeps and tatties and suffered heartburn for the rest of the evening.

In the evening we were watching a movie and realised that my hand and fingers were swelling up badly.  So to finish a crap day we were off to causality where I got a prescription for penicillin + something for the bacteria in cat bites.

After that I went home and went to bed glad to get to the end of a truly awful day.

Things have been fine –  so far!

Responses

  1. hi i have found your information very interresting on the Quigley family i to am a Quigley living in L,Derry my father was from crehenen Quigleys point Donegal Alexander (Sandy) Quigley His brother was named joe, my mother was from mill bray Buncrana her maiden name was McKinley (lily) i have not looked in to my family history but after reading your’s i think i will (what would the chances of us being related) have you any pointers of where to start,
    Kenny Quigley

  2. Hi Kenny
    the chances of us being related are pretty high I think. We also have McKinley in the family. If you send me your email address I will post you a pdf of my family tree and you can see if and where your family fit in.

  3. I don’t know if you realised but I have put a lot of it in a book the link is
    http://www.blurb.com/bookstore/detail/980834

    you can see it all there


Leave a Reply

Categories

