Posted by: liliansloan | January 11, 2009

The Sloan Family

 Descendants of John Sloan

Generation No. 1

 1.  JOHN SLOAN was born Abt. 1800 in Ireland, and died Bef. 1883.  He married AGNES WEIR.  She was born Abt. 1800 in Ireland, and died Bef. 1883.

 More About JOHN SLOAN:

Bef 1883: grain miller

    Child of JOHN SLOAN and AGNES WEIR is:

2.   JOHN SLOAN, b. Abt. 1824, Antrim Ireland; d. 23 Mar 1883, Hillhead Glasgow Lanarkshire.

 Generation No. 2

 2.  JOHN SLOAN (JOHN)  was born Abt. 1824 in Antrim Ireland, and died 23 Mar 1883 in Hillhead Glasgow Lanarkshire.  He married HELEN MCMULLEN 28 May 1844 in Antrim Ireland.  She was born Abt. 1821 in Antrim Ireland, and died in Lanark scotland.

 Notes for JOHN SLOAN:

died as a result of being crushed by a descending cage

David Sloan a boarder is living with them in 1861 aged 20

John Sloan nephew living with them in 1881 born abt 1845 a coalminer

 Newspaper article

1883  March 23 Cairnhill No 6 Airdrie Wm Baird & Co

John Sloan    a Bottomer 60 Killed In shafts By the cage descending upon him and was occasioned by the cage being raised without a signal; he was in the act of running a full hutch onto the cage when it was raised, and the hutch, instead of landing on the cage, fell into the “sump.” It would appear that the engineman, conscious of some mistake, had set the cage suddenly back, and the unfortunate sufferer, who had fallen into the “sump” with the hutch, was crushed under it. As underground workmen trust implicitly to the signals, it is of the greatest importance that those defined by the special rules should be strictly observed. The engineman in this case was charged with violation of the rules, and found guilty.

 More About JOHN SLOAN:

Occupation: 1861, Iron Stone Miner

Residence: 1881, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

 More About HELEN MCMULLEN:

Aka (Facts Pg): Ellen

Residence: 1901, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

   Children of JOHN SLOAN and HELEN MCMULLEN are:

3.   i.   DAVID SLOAN, b. Abt. 1845, Ireland.

     ii.  JOHN SLOAN, b. Abt. 1845, ireland.

     iii. AGNESS SLOAN, b. 1848, Ireland.

 More About AGNESS SLOAN:

Residence: 1851, New Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

   iv.  MARY SLOAN, b. 1851, Airdrie, Lanark.

 More About MARY SLOAN:

Residence: 1851, New Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

   v.   MARTHA SLOAN, b. 1856, 10 Hill Head Rows Old Monklands Scotland.

 More About MARTHA SLOAN:

Residence: 1861, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

  vi.  JANE SLOAN b. Abt. 1857, 10 Hill Head Rows Old Monklands Scotland.

 More About JANE SLOAN:

Occupation: 1881, cotton weaver

Residence: 1891, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland14

 vii. MARGARET SLOAN, b. 19 Feb 1859, 10 Hill Head Rows Hillhead Old Monklands Lanark Scotland.

 More About MARGARET SLOAN:

Occupation: 1881, cotton weaver

Residence: 1861, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland15

 4.   viii.JOHN SLOAN, b. 13 Apr 1862, 10 Hill Head Rows Old Monklands Lanark Scotland; d. Lanarkshire Scotland.

 Generation No. 3

 3.  DAVID  SLOAN (JOHN, JOHN) was born Abt. 1845 in Ireland.  He married ELIZABETH HUME 06 Mar 1866 in Airdrie Lanarkshire Scotland.  She was born 1848 in Old Monkland.

 More About DAVID SLOAN:

Occupation: 1861, Iron Stone Miner

Residence: 1901, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

 More About ELIZABETH HUME:

Residence: 1881, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

  Children of DAVID SLOAN and ELIZABETH HUME are:

     i.   AGNES4 SLOAN, b. 1879, Old Monkland.

 More About AGNES SLOAN:

Residence: 1881, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

  ii.  DAVID SLOAN, b. 1868, Old Monkland.

 More About DAVID SLOAN:

Residence: 1881, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

  iii. HUGH SLOAN, b. 1874, Old Monkland.

 More About HUGH SLOAN:

Residence: 1881, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

  iv.  JANE SLOAN, b. 1870, Old Monkland.

 More About JANE SLOAN:

Residence: 1881, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

 v.   JOHN SLOAN, b. 03 Aug 1866, Hillhead Old Monklands.

 More About JOHN SLOAN:

Residence: 1881, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

 4.  JOHN SLOAN (JOHN, JOHN)  was born 13 Apr 1862 in 10 Hill Head Rows Old Monklands Lanark Scotland, and died in Lanarkshire Scotland.  He married CATHERINE BELL 08 Jun 1888 in Holytown Church of Scotland Lanark Scotland, daughter of HENRY BELL and AGNUS MCFARLANE.  She was born 1869 in Lanarkshire Scotland, and died in Lanarkshire Scotland.

 Notes for JOHN SLOAN:

Dwelling:125 Hillhead Row

Census Place:Old Monkland, Lanark, Scotland

 John SLOAN  Ireland

Rel:Head

Occ:Coal Miner

Ellen SLOAN  Ireland

Rel:Wife

David SLOAN Ireland

Rel:Son

Occ:Coal Miner

Jane SLOAN old Monkland, Lanark, Scotland

Rel:Daur

Occ:Cotton Weaver

Margret SLOAN Old Monkland, Lanark, Scotland

Rel:Daur

Occ:Cotton Weaver

John SLOAN old Monkland, Lanark, Scotland

Rel:Son

Occ:Coal Miner

John SLOAN Ireland Dwelling:125 Hillhead Row

Census Place:Old Monkland, Lanark, Scotland

 John SLOAN Ireland

Rel:Head

Occ:Coal Miner

Ellen SLOAN Ireland

Rel:Wife

David SLOAN Ireland

Rel:Son

Occ:Coal Miner

Jane SLOAN Old Monkland, Lanark, Scotland

Rel:Daur

Occ:Cotton Weaver

Margret SLOAN Old Monkland, Lanark, Scotland

Rel:Daur

Occ:Cotton Weaver

John SLOAN Old Monkland, Lanark, Scotland

Rel:Son

Occ:Coal Miner

John SLOAN Ireland

 More About JOHN SLOAN:

Occupation: 1888, coalminer

Residence: 1888, Hillhead Old Monkland

 More About CATHERINE BELL:

Occupation: 1888, domestic servant

Residence: 1888, Larkins Lane Hollytown

    Children of JOHN SLOAN and CATHERINE BELL are:

5.   i. JOHN SLOAN, b. 04 Nov 1888, Hillhead of Faskine, East District Old Monklands Scotland; d. Abt. 1950, Scotland.

     ii.  AGNES MCFARLANE SLOAN, b. 23 Jan 1890, 126 Hillhead by AirdrieOld Monkland, Lanarkshire

 More About AGNES MCFARLANE SLOAN:

Residence: 1901, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

  iii. DAVID SLOAN51, b. 06 Oct 1891, 137 Hillhead Old Monkland, Lanarkshire.

 More About DAVID SLOAN:

Residence: 1901, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland51

 iv.  ISABELLA BELL SLOAN, b. 06 Jul 1893, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire.

 More About ISABELLA BELL SLOAN:

Residence: 1901, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

  v.   HELEN SLOAN, b. 28 Feb 1895, 134 Hillhead by Airdrie Old Monkland, Lanarkshire

 More About HELEN SLOAN:

Residence: 1901, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

  vi.  JANE SLOAN, b. 01 Oct 1896, 134 Hillhead Rows by Airdrie Old Monkland, Lanarkshire

 More About JANE SLOAN:

Residence: 1901, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

  vii. MARY SLOAN, b. 1898, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire

More About MARY SLOAN:

Residence: 1901, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

  viii.MARGARET SLOAN, b. 1900, 134 Hillhead by Airdrie Old Monkland, Lanarkshire

 More About MARGARET SLOAN:

Residence: 1901, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

  ix.  HENRY BELL SLOAN, b. 07 Nov 1900, 134 Hillhead Rows Calderbank Old Monkland, Lanarkshire

More About HENRY BELL SLOAN:

Residence: 1901, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

 Generation No. 4

 5.  JOHN SLOAN (JOHN, JOHN, JOHN) was born 04 Nov 1888 in Hillhead of Faskine, East District Old Monklands Scotland, and died Abt. 1950 in Scotland.  He married JEAN HUTCHISON HANNEN 17 Jul 1914 in 164 Main Street Baillieston, Lanark Scotland, daughter of WILLIAM HANNEN and AGNUS LAIRD.  She was born Abt. 1892 in 164 Main Street Bailliston Lanark scotland, and died 04 Nov 1970 in Valleyfield Fife Scotland.

 More About JOHN SLOAN:

Occupation: 1914, coalminer

Residence: 1901, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland56,56

 More About JEAN HUTCHISON HANNEN:

Occupation: 1914, preserve worker

 Marriage Notes for JOHN SLOAN and JEAN HANNEN:

signed by Alexander McMillan Minister of Memorial United Free Church Bailleston

witness James Huner & Mary C. Allen

    Children of JOHN SLOAN and JEAN HANNEN are:

6.   i.   JOHN SLOAN, b. Abt. 1915, Scotland; d. 2003.

7.   ii.  WILLIAM HANNEN SLOAN, b. 20 Nov 1916, west of scotland; d. 13 Jun 1992, Glenrothes Hospital.

8.   iii. JEAN SLOAN, b. 1924, Fife Scotland.

9.   iv.  AGNUS SLOAN, b. Abt. 1918, Scotland.

     v.   CATHERINE BELL SLOAN, b. 1921, Scotland;  b. Abt. 1820.

     vi.  DAVID SLOAN, b. 1929.

     vii. JEAN SLOAN, b. Abt. 1917, Fife Scotland;

 Generation No. 5

 6.  JOHN SLOAN (JOHN, JOHN, JOHN, JOHN) was born Abt. 1915 in Scotland, and died 2003.  He married EDNA BLAZE.  She was born Abt. 1915.

    Children of JOHN SLOAN and EDNA BLAZE are:

10.  i.   JOHN SLOAN.

     ii.  MARY SLOAN.

     iii. DAVID SLOAN.

 7.  WILLIAM HANNEN5 SLOAN (JOHN, JOHN, JOHN, JOHN) was born 20 Nov 1916 in west of scotland, and died 13 Jun 1992 in Glenrothes Hospital.  He married ISABELLA GUTHRIE 05 Aug 1944 in Masonic Hall Torryburn Fife Scotland, daughter of THOMAS GUTHRIE and ANNIE RITCHIE.  She was born 12 Mar 1923 in Gowkhall Carnock  Fife.

 Notes for WILLIAM HANNEN SLOAN:

worked with the Coal board most of his adult life as a mining electrician.  Was the first man into the Rothes Pitat Glenrothes in Fife before opening and the last man to leave when closing down the water pumps,

Had a head injury as a young man – motorbike accident and was operated on by Dr.Norman Dot the neuro-surgeon.

 More About WILLIAM HANNEN SLOAN:

Occupation: Electrictian

 William and Isabella had one son and one grand daughter

Check out my books

Responses

  1. seeking info on David Sloan, born near Belfast approximately 1898-9, emigrated to US 191x.

    Married Mary Gee (born Manchester, England)

    Children Evelyn and Kenneth (born 1922 Kearny, NJ, died 1981, Nutley, NJ)

    Evelyn married Al Overthrow

    Kenneth married Eleanore Mae Sampson born in Chicago, IL 1920, died 2007 in Ocean Grove, NJ

    Children Kenneth (born 1947 in Millington, TN),
    Barbara (born 1949, Newark, NJ) and Kathryn (born 1955, Newark, NJ)

  2. I don’t know anything more about him. Do you know of his parents? I am trying to find out about John Sloan and Hellen/Ellen McMullen who were married in Antrim 1844. I can’t find them.
    Lilian

  3. Just like you, I go forever with out reading RSS. My view is, if it’s important at all, It will hit my twitter stream.

  4. that’s all I seem to do on this sight – twitter!

  5. Lilian,
    I was interested to read about Jean Hutchison Hannen on your page. I believe she was my great great aunt. She had a brother Charles born 8/20/1878 who went to the US around 1914 (my great great grandfather).
    Please email me back if you would like to discuss.
    Thanks
    Jen

  6. this is great I have emailed you Jen, and hope that we are connected. Jean Hannen was my husband’s grandmother.

  7. Hi Lilian,
    I am sorry i did not get your email, my address is jhannen at tampabay.rr.com
    I would like to speak with you further! It does seem this is the same Jean Hannen. I am always excited to meet other Hannen descendants!

    Take care
    Jen

  8. Well this is a surprise, I’m Iain Sloan, My father is John Sloan, born 1930 in Airdrie, Scotland.

    I know that my grandfather had relatives in Northern Ireland.

    However I can’t remember my Grandfather’s name, but I will find out. Even though my father is suffering from Alzheimers, his memory of the old days is really vivid.

    I’ll do some digging when I call him and see what we can find. I’ve just got into digging into the past in the past few years since moving to the US. Some of the names

  9. I see above ring bells with me. Let’s see where this takes us.

  10. Ok here’s what I’ve found.

    My great grandfather was, you’ve guessed it, John Sloan, but not totally sure if it’s one listed here.

    John had a 4 sons and daughters, I only know two of the sons names. John (known as Jack) and Robert (my grandfather). Jack was a gardner, He managed the grounds for a big house somewhere around and towards his later years owned a flowershop in Helensburgh. Robert worked in the Iron industry as did many from the Airdrie / Coatbridge area. My great grandfather John was a churchman and is noted as the founder of a church in the Airdrie and Coatbridge area. I’m not sure whether it’s the Broomknowle street Church or the Bretheren hall. But his name is on a stone as you go in the door.

    Robert had two sons. Both named for their grandfathers. John and Andrew both working in the Iron and Steel industry until their retirements.

    Now the tying factor here is the fact that the Hillhead Row Sloan’s are all coal miners and the Long Row Sloans were all steel / iron workers. together they produced the steel plate used on the Queen Mary and other Cunard Liners.

    Somewhere… The lines do merge, simply because the name can be traced back to one family in Ireland.

  11. this is great. Do you have a family tree anywhere that I could compare data. I do have other information on a whole lot of other people so maybe somewhere I could find the connection. Interestingly the Sloan side is my husband’s family – he is also Ian. Too many Johns in the family and his name is john william so he became known as Ian

  12. No, not currently I’m in the process of trying to get one together, but being so far away (I’m in Texas these days) and my Dad being still in the Airdrie area it’s not easy to do.

    There are a lot of Iain / Ian s around. And I to was named Iain (gaelic for John) just so there wasn’t another John around.

    I’ll keep on digging to see what I find.

  13. how many john & ian sloan’s are there in the world??!! you should start a dave gorman style quest..
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dave_Gorman#Are_You_Dave_Gorman.3F

  14. if you type in john/ian sloan into anscetry.com yu get zillions. Its a scary thought

  15. Hey Susan,

    It’s the same with Susan Sloan’s I have a cousin, Susan Sloan who swam for Canada in the Olympics maybe 20 years ago. Oh and yes, she medalled. :)

    When you look at Ian / John you are really looking at the same thing. A lot of the time John is shortened to Ian, so it’s basically the same thing. There are less Iain ‘s with the Gaelic spelling. I know of about 5. One who messaged me on facebook a year ago saying the name was his and to give it back :)

    too funny.

  16. Yeah john sloan was the 1st of my gen in the usa 1704 Halifax, Virginia, United States far as. Ican go back on the sloan side on my mothers i can go back to 1300’s they kept good records lol but any info would help me ill leave my email. Joshuaslone2010@hotmail.com

  17. I guess john was a common name in Ireland at the time.So many johns if i can get past 1704 id be alright just cant find any records.

  18. http://trees.ancestry.com/tree/14343277/family?fpid=93286913

    If you wanna compare data

  19. Are any of these Sloans connected with the Gartshore/Sloan Lineage????
    My Greatgrand father and grandfather were both William Sloan

  20. The Sloans in my tree were settled in Monklands and were a mining family. The furthest back I have is a John Sloan and Ellen/Helen McMillan (Mullan) who were married in 1844 in Antrim

  21. My great great great grandfather/grandmother was john sloan and Agnes Weir, their child Alexander sloan Married Ann Sloan in Ireland and they moved to lanarkshire, they then had my great grandfather Also Alexander sloan in 1864 who married Annie McCallum Hogg Sloan. This finally brings me to my grandmother Elizabeth McCallum Hogg Sloan born 1905. There lots of family to get through, im currently doing the family tree which is endless but its great to find some relatives. Any info u need just email me, be good to hear from some family out there i never knew i had

  22. for atttention of the sloan clan my gran was bessy sloan married to jimmy guild espised area my sister has been doing the family tree please email on following adress she has lots of information were connected somewhere along the line our grandfather was a coal miner married to bessy sloan sister has imformation bk to the 1700 s

  23. As I said in a previous post I have got to John Sloan married in Antrim in 1844. I believe is mother was Agnes Weir but I have not proved it. Do you know of Alexander’s siblings? I will email you and see if we can exchange information

  24. I am very interested in this. I don’t have a Jimmy Guild in my tree but have several Bessies. Can you give me a bit more information about them

  25. […] The Sloan Family January 2009 24 comments 3 […]

  26. Well having seen this again it’s been a long time since I posted last. Since then my father passed on, and I really started my digging into my past. I’ve traced my side of the family back to another John Sloan born in Ireland in 1831. Now that’s all well and good, but the number of John Sloan’s born in Ireland about that time is just crazy. A co worker here let me use her ancestry.com account to do some digging further back and I’ve managed to find relatives I didn’t even know I had. I just wish could go back further or find more detain on John Sloan in 1831! :)

  27. Hi Ian….sorry to hear about your dad. My mother passed away last year just after Christmas and it’s a sad time. You always have the feeling….if only I had asked about that. If your ancestors are in Scotland go into ‘Scotland’s People’ and you will get their birth marriage and death records. You have to pay for it but what a lot of information you can get from them. Also there is a site Ulster Ancestry which is good and they have some free pages of information. I suspect though, that if you do you will be in great danger of, like the rest of us, getting addicted to this lark. I am in the middle of putting together the 3rd family book.

  28. sorry I haven’t replied sooner. What part of Ireland was that John Sloan born in?

  29. The John Sloan I have way back when was born in Antrim, NI in 1831. But as I think I said before. There are more John Sloans out there than anything else. I do know that in 1850 he married Elisabeth Kirk and at some point moved to Bothwell in Lanarkshire.
    They had two children. Robert (1851-1925) and Mary Jane (born 1859). I have nothing more on Mary Jane, but Robert married Elizabeth Warren, they had 6 Children, Elizabeth (1871), John (1872-1932), Helen (1875-1876), James (1877-1878), Georgina (1879), Susan (1881-1947) and Robert (1887). The John listed there would be my Great Grandfather. Married Helen Leckie and had 7 Children, Only two of them seem to have survived into adulthood. Robert T Sloan (1900 – 1975 and my Grandfather) and John Leckie Sloan (1907 – 2000). Robert had two sons, John (my father, 1930 – 2009) and Andrew, who passed in 2007 on the exact same day as my father.

    Anyway that’s my potted History on the Sloan side. I’d love to go back further than 1831 though.

  30. Hi there, sorry, don’t know if I’m doing this right…hoping someone might have a connection to Samuel Sloan, ironstone miner, born c. 1824 in Ireland. He moved to Cadder, Lanarkshire at some point and in 1852 married Isabella Wilson. His parents were Samuel Sloan and Jane Beattie. Samuel and Isabella went on to have children Samuel born c. 1852, Mary born c. 1855, William born 1857, John born 1860 died 1860, second John born 1861 and Alexander born 1864, all Cadder.

  31. Hi Mags
    don’t know about this particular family. There were a lot of Irish Sloans in and around this part of the country. I presume the famine and hard times brought them to the west of Scotland. My Sloans were coal miners but that doesnt mean that there is not connections. Ulster Ancestry might be a good site and you might get some clues there

  32. I was VERY excited to see your sight…I am Emily an American who now lives in Scotland. I have a tidbit…my great great grandmother is Martha Sloan (b 1856 in Old Monkland) who is the daughter of John (b. about 1825 in Ireland and died 1883 in mining accident\) and Elenora (aka Ellen, Hellen) McMullen (McMillian) who was born about 1827 in Ireland. Martha was the sister to David, Nancy, Jane, Mary, and Margaret. Martha was married to Robert Gilmour (Gilmour) b about 1856 in Paisley. They had 5 children Robert and John born in PAisley area and then Jeanie, Maggie (Margaret), and Myrn who were born in Pennsylvania USA; so the Gilmours became Gilmore and traveled to the USA sometime between 1878 and 1879 (I have yet to find their transport/immigration records. Jeanie married my grandfather William E. Gedden and their son William E. Gedden Jr. was my father. I do have a tree on Ancestry.com/co.uk but I am not an active member. if you would like to reach me at lifevibe@btinternet.com feel free!

    Emily

  33. will contact you by email

  34. Hi,

    I’ve done my Sloan family tree, Airdrie, however, unrelated.
    My Sloan ancestry is from Monaghan
    Still a few descendants are living in Airdrie.

    cheers

    gerry@sloanranger.com

  35. well go far enough back and you never know. Sadly that’s very difficult to do. Still thanks for letting me know
    cheers

  36. Just as an aside, I found this page after googling “Hillhead Row”. My ancestor James Glover and family stayed at number 127 when the 1881 census was taken – they must surely have known the Sloans.

  37. surely would

  38. Hi Lillian

    Was reading some of the posts above and noticed you had one left by Margaret July 23, 2011 in relation toSamuel Sloan married to Isabella Wilson if you like that is a line that is in my family tree. if you like you may forward our website on to her not sure if she has seen it or been in contact with us. web address is http://www.sloanfamilyoz.net
    Thanks
    Mary

  39. Hi, I am looking for a Reid/Sloan connection in Northern Ireland. John Reid would have married Jane Sloan c.1800, either N.I. or Sct. their eldest son,George Sloan Reid(Reed) migrated to Canada c.1830 after his marriage to Jane Sherry. John and Jane Reid’s youngest son, James Reid, my Gr. Gr. grandfather migratedto AUS in 1840. I am trying to find out more about our Sloan family.
    June

  40. sorry I haven’t replied sooner. I have not been doing the family history for a wee while as I have been busy with other things. However I will get back to you as all this sounds very interesting. My great search is for a Thomas Guthrie born abt 1800 in Eyemouth. There are several possibilities but none fit later in life.

  41. My great grandfather was Hugh Sloan, born ballymena and moved to hillhead row, hill of faskine around 1875 and worked as a miner, had sons hugh and William (my grandfather), and daughters jean agnes and Helen.

  42. interestin. The furthest back I have is a John Sloan married to Helen/Ellen McMullen or McMillan (the writing on the register is not clear) who were married in Antrim 1844 but lived in Lanarkshire.

  43. Helen/Ellen McMullen might have been his first wife, did they have a daughter Margaret ?

  44. This is the of Helen as far as I know. What I haven’t been able to find is evidence of their marriage,
    Children of JOHN SLOAN and HELEN MCMULLEN are:

    3. i. DAVID SLOAN, b. Abt. 1845, Ireland.

    ii. JOHN SLOAN, b. Abt. 1845, ireland.

    iii. AGNESS SLOAN, b. 1848, Irelan

    Residence: 1851, New Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

    iv. MARY SLOAN, b. 1851, Airdrie, Lanark.

    More About MARY SLOAN:

    Residence: 1851, New Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

    v. MARTHA SLOAN, b. 1856, 10 Hill Head Rows Old Monklands Scotland.

    More About MARTHA SLOAN:

    nd, Lanarkshire, Scotland15

    4. viii.JOHN SLOAN, b. 13 Apr 1862, 10 Hill Head Rows Old Monklands Lanark Scotland; d. Lanarkshire Scotland.

    Residence: 1861, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland

    vi. JANE SLOAN b. Abt. 1857, 10 Hill Head Rows Old Monklands Scotland.

    More About JANE SLOAN:

    Occupation: 1881, cotton weaver

    Residence: 1891, Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland14

    vii. MARGARET SLOAN, b. 19 Feb 1859, 10 Hill Head Rows Hillhead Old Monklands Lanark Scotland.

    More About MARGARET SLOAN:

    Occupation: 1881, cotton weaver

    Residence: 1861, Old Monkla

    d.

    More About AGNESS SLOAN:

  45. I think my 2nd great-grandfather, Hugh Sloan born abt.1850 in Ballymena, Antrim, Northern Ireland might be a brother or cousin of David Sloan. Hugh Sloan moved to Hillhead Row Old Monkland between 1876 and 1880 from Ballymena around the time of the death of his first wife Margaret Irvine.

    My ancestry DNA match list suggests a link to David Sloan on another Ancestry family tree. Hugh Sloan was living at 124 Hillhead Row on the 1891 census and working as a Miner.

    https://www.ancestry.co.uk/family-tree/person/tree/45695128/person/24210442130/facts

    Does anyone have any ideas regarding the connection?

  46. I have found a marriage record 9 Aug 1884 on https://www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk/ for my 2nd great-grandfather Hugh Sloan b. abt. 1849 in Ballymena, Co Antrim who died in Hamilton, Lanarkshire in 1920.

    Father: James Sloan b. abt 1833

    Mother: Martha Weir

    Both are listed as deceased at the time of the marriage in 1884.

    1891 census Hugh Sloan, 42, Miner, 124 Hillhead Row, Old Monkland.

    http://search.ancestry.co.uk/cgi-bin/sse.dll?indiv=1&dbid=1108&h=4428994&ssrc=pt&tid=45695128&pid=24210442130&usePUB=true

    It appears that Martha Weir subsequently married a William Weir after James Sloan died this information is shown on Hugh Sloan’s death record in 1920.

    Copies of both records are attached to my ancestry tree here;

    https://www.ancestry.co.uk/family-tree/person/tree/45695128/person/24210442130/facts?_phtarg=tls322

    Looks like James Sloan is related to John Sloan and Martha Weir is related to Agnes Weir not sure what to make of Martha Sloan née Weir remarrying a William Weir after James Sloan’s death.


Leave a Reply

Categories

